Call For Papers

International Symposium on Wireless Local and Personal Area Networks
(part of IWCMC 2007)

Turtle Bay Resort Hotel
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
August 12-16, 2007

IWCMC 2007
		        [Wireless and Mobile Technologies for
			 the Next Generation.
			Turtle Bay Resort Hotel
			Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
			August 12-16, 2007]

Technical Support: IEEE (pending)/ACM (approved)

Scope and Topics of Interest

Original papers are invited on emerging architectures and technologies in the design of wireless local area networks (WLANs) and wireless personal area networks (WPANs) with emphasis on the use of such networks in diverse areas of applications such as supporting ubiquitous mobile Internet access, and the design of ad-hoc networks, and sensor networks. The symposium solicits high quality and previously unpublished work in the field. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Wireless Mesh Networks
  • Medium access techniques and protocols for WLANs/WPANs
  • Emerging standards and testbeds for WLANs/WPANs
  • WLANs/WPANs protocols for smart antennas
  • Energy efficiency in protocol and systems design
  • Resource assignment and sharing in WLANs/WPANs
  • Self configuration in WLANs/WPANs
  • Provisioning quality of service in WLANs/WPANs
  • Multimedia networking architectures and protocols for WLANs/WPANs
  • Integration and interoperability of WLANs/WPANs and 3G (and beyond) networks
  • Interoperability issues between wireless standards/protocols and the Internet
  • User mobility and workload modeling
  • Security issues in WLANs/WPANs

Paper Submission and Important Dates

Please see the IWCMC 2007 main page for guidelines. Note that IWCMC papers are typically limited to six pages, and must be in standard IEEE double-column format (unless mentioned otherwise on the conference's main WEB page). All submissions are typically handled electronically and must be in PDF format. Information on best paper awards will be made available on the conference's main WEB page.

Manuscript Submission: March 30, 2007 April 10, 2007
Acceptance Notification: May 30, 2007
Camera-Ready Papers Due: TBA (tentative: June 30, 2007)

Organizing Committee

Symposium Co-Chairs

Ehab S. Elmallah
Department of Computing Science,
University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta
Canada, T6G 2E8

Yang Xiao
Department of Computer Science,
University of Alabama,
101 Houser Hall,
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0290 USA

Publicity Chair

Kui Wu
Department of Computer Science
University of Victoria
Victoria, British Columbia
Canada V8W 3P6

Technical Program Committee

  • Giuseppe Bianchi, University of Roma Tor Vergata, Italy
  • Azzedine Boukerche, SITE, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Jiannong Cao, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Hui Chen, Autozone Inc. USA
  • Sunghyun Choi, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Todor Cooklev, San Francisco State University, USA
  • Jing Deng, University of New Orleans, USA
  • Gang Ding, Olympus Communication Technology of America, USA
  • Christos Douligeris, University of Piraeus, Greece
  • Jose Rosario Gallardo, CICESE, Mexico
  • Tian He, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Ekram Hossain, University of Manitoba, Canada
  • Ricky Y.K. Kwok, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Frank Haizhon Li, University of South Carolina Upstate, USA
  • Hong Va Leong, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Mike MacGregor, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Jelena Misic, University of Manitoba, Canada
  • Vojislav B Misic, University of Manitoba, Canada
  • Qiang Ni, Brunel University, UK
  • Ioanis Nikolaidis, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Ertan Ozturk, Zonguldak Karaelmas University, Turkey
  • Pascal Pagani, France Telecom, France
  • Ai-Chun Pang, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Jun Peng, University of Texas - Pan American, USA
  • Wen-Chih Peng, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • Yi Qian, University of Puerto Rico, USA
  • Bo Sun, Lamar University, USA
  • Shahrokh Valaee, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Dimitrios Vergados, University of the Aegean, Greece
  • Wenye Wang, North Carolina State University, USA
  • Zhijun Wang, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Hongyi Wu, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, USA
  • Kui Wu, University of Victoria, Canada
  • Jiang (Linda) Xie, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
  • Jingyuan Zhang, University of Alabama, USA
  • Hao Zhu, Florida International University, USA