The UofA Problem Solving Club is a group of passionate students and faculty who do programming problems in a competitive setting.

Zachary Friggstad

Head coach and club organizer, two time world finalist.

Henry Brausen

Club vetern and coach.

Jason Yuan

Club vetern and coach.
These are some of the people recently involved in programming club: Saber Khakpash, Amir Malekzadeh and Navid Zolghadr are team Alberta Black. They participated in the 2011 and 2012 world finals and are thereby promoted to coaches. Seyed Sina Khankhajeh, David Szepesvari, Kevin Barabash were team Alberta Red in 2011/12. They participated in both ACPC and regionals that year. Henry Brausen and Jason Yuan are regular attendees. Martin Müller and Michael Buro and are the current and future coaches, and Mohammad Salavatipour and Sumudu Fernando are co-coaches. Sumudu is a two time world finalist. Babak Behsaz helped with running training contests for our recent world finals preparation. Zac Friggstad is a former coach and two time world finalist who is now a Postdoc at Waterloo. Roshan Shariff and Travis Dick are two time world finalists and are also still at UofA. Piotr Rudnicki started programming club and was our first coach.


  • 2013 ACPC (Oct. 19)
  • 2013 RMRC (Oct. 25-26)

    2012 and earlier

    2011 ACPC

    Alberta Black won! See the report. ACPC was organized by the University of Calgary programming club this year. See the contest and the scoreboard.

    2011 Regionals

    Regionals were in Edmonton this year. Alberta Black won! See the report, our local contest page, the regional contest information and the scoreboard.

    2012 World finals

    We went to world finals in Warsaw, Poland! Our team solved 4 problems to tie for 36th place overall. Please see results and full scoreboard.


    Alberta 1 with Saber Khakpash, Amir Malekzadeh and Navid Zolghadr and Alberta2 win first and second at the 2010 ACPC. See the contest and the report.

    Alberta 1 with Saber Khakpash, Amir Malekzadeh and Navid Zolghadr wins the 2010 regionals by solving 9 out of 9 problems! Alberta2 in 7th place. See the report and the scoreboard.

    4 problems solved at 2011 world finals, 42nd place out of 104 teams. See the report.


    Alberta 1 with Travis Dick, Roshan Shariff, and Gagan Sidhu win the 2009 ACPC. scoreboard.

    Alberta 1, with a reinforced team of Travis Dick, Roshan Shariff, and Iain Ireland, wins the 2009 regionals! Alberta 2 in 5th place. See the report and the scoreboard. They went on to World Finals in Harbin, China in 2010 and got a honorable mention.


    UAlberta teams end out of the medal range at the 2008 ACPC. scoreboard.

    Alberta 1 did a lot better when it counts at the regionals. Our rookie team is the only one to solve 5 problems. scoreboard. Roshan Shariff, Travis Dick, and Nicholas Merritt earn a trip to World finals in Stockholm in 2009 and got a honorable mention.

    UofA 2008 World Finals team

    UofA 2008 team, World Finals: Steven Soneff (Electrical Engineering), Kevin Waugh (Computing Science), Martin Müller (Coach), Devin Doucette (Software Engineering). Finished 23rd in the World.

    For more information about participation in past contests, please see Piotr Rudnicki's contest pages. There you will find past local contests we have run and links to on-line contests in which you can participate anytime.

    UofA 2002 team: Rocky Mountain Region Winners

    UofA 2002 team, Rocky Mountain Region Winners: Jason Klaus (CompEng), Ashley Zinyk (CompEng) and Gilbert Lee (CompSci)