University of Alberta logo 2006 Alberta Collegiate Programming Contest

October 14, 2006, 11:00-16:00


The Alberta Collegiate Programming Contest (ACPC) provides college students from Alberta with opportunities to interact with students from other universities and to sharpen and demonstrate their problem-solving, programming, and teamwork skills. The contest provides a platform for industry and academia to encourage and focus public attention on the next generation of computing professionals as they pursue excellence.

ACPC has been inspired by ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest and can be seen as its unofficial chapter.

History: 200320042005200620072008200920102011201220132014

Prizes funded by: iCORE logo

1st: $1,500 2nd: $750 3rd: $300

Only teams from Alberta are eligible to win prizes.

Google logo has provided Google blue t-shirts for participants and coaches. Thanks!

The top three teams winning iCore prizes: U of Alberta team 1

I U of Alberta Kevin Waugh Steven Soneff Zac Friggstad
U of Calgary team 1
II U of Calgary Sean McIntyre John Zhang Darko Aleksic
U of Lethbridge team 1
III U of Lethbridge Thomas Xiong Curtis Van Osch Brett Peake


The third edition of ACPC attracted 24 teams: 4 from University of Calgary, 6 from University of Lethbridge and 3 from University of Alberta. The teams from outside Alberta and some teams from Alberta (altogether 11 teams) participated as guests and were not eligible to win prizes.

Although it was a team competition, it has been won by a guest team consisting of Richard Peng, a freshman from Waterloo, playing solo.

P. Rudnicki