University of Alberta logo 2003 Alberta Collegiate Programming Contest

October 18, 2003, 11:00-16:00


The Alberta Collegiate Programming Contest (ACPC) provides college students from Alberta with opportunities to interact with students from other universities and to sharpen and demonstrate their problem-solving, programming, and teamwork skills. The contest provides a platform for industry and academia to encourage and focus public attention on the next generation of computing professionals as they pursue excellence.

ACPC has been inspired by ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest and can be seen as its unofficial chapter.

History: 200320042005200620072008200920102011201220132014

Prizes funded by: iCORE logo

Prizes are gift certificates to university bookstores.

1st: $500 2nd: $300 3rd: $200

Only teams from Alberta are eligible to win prizes.

Top three teams winning iCore prizes:

I Edmonton Broderick Arneson Kevin Waugh Rui Rebelo
II Edmonton Roy de Bruijn William Rosgen Jason Klaus
III Calgary Sonny Chan Alex Fink Kelly Poon

The competition was quite fierce as with 15 minutes before the contest ended the order of these teams was reversed. The Calgary team incurred a large time penalty which can be at least partially attributed to a certain problem with judging (see here for some details).

Complete results for teams from Alberta

There were 31 teams participating from all over Canada.

Queen's University3
University of Alberta11
University of British Columbia3
University of Calgary4
University of Lethbridge5
University of Toronto2
University of Waterloo3

The teams from outside of Alberta participated as guests and were not eligible to win prizes.

Results including all guest teams.

The tests used for judging.

Questions? Ask